Map Key


The impact of the federal companionship rules reform will vary from state to state.

Home care workers in 29 states (plus Puerto Rico) will have minimum wage and overtime protections for the first time: AL, AK, AR, CT, DE, FL, GA, ID, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, MO, MS, NH, NM, NC, OK, OR, RI, SC, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WV, and WY.

Home care workers in 13 states (plus the District of Columbia) will be covered by a state minimum wage rate higher than the federal minimum wage: AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, IL, ME, MA, MI, MO, NV, OH, and WA. Two of these states, CT and FL, will newly cover home care workers at the higher state rate because their laws incorporate federal definitional changes to the exemption.

In 6 states (plus the District of Columbia), home care workers will have overtime protections for the first time: AZ, CA, NE, ND, OH, and SD.

For more detailed information on an individual state, please click on the map above, or download the full summary by clicking on "View as Table."

Contact Us

For more information about the federal companionship rules change and the state laws pertaining to home care workers, contact Sarah Leberstein, sleberstein(at), or Catherine Ruckelshaus, cruckelshaus(at)